Father’s Day

Sitting in my chair, cards strewn around
It makes me appreciate family and
To think upon those unfortunate ones:
The fathers whose children are not
In their lives any longer and those who
Yearn, year after year, for the situation
To warrant their receipt of such card.

As mine start to spoil the day with their
Incessant fighting and smarmy retorts
And my anger rises and voices raise,
Part of me feels guilt for my actions
Knowing that many wish they could
Be in my shoes for even an instant
And embrace the children, regardless.

Aye. Father’s Day, like so many others
Of the “Hallmark Holidays”, celebrates
One part of society whilst ignoring
The pain and hurt and rejection
Of those whose lives cause them
To live on the other sides of the fence,
Jealous, bitter and hateful of life’s turns.

An original poem – please seek permission before reproducing in any way.

About Mark

I'm a forty-something Welsh-American. Other interests outside writing/blogging and very amateur photography include gardening, cooking, and sports, esp. rugby union.

Posted on May 17, 2010, in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Really nice poem.I’m from Greece and i was going to college in Harrisburg ,PA about a year ago as i was just signed up for my first class (PRE-CALC) my father had a stroke. I had to leave the States and come back to take care of my father. My father was a mechanical engineer and got his Masters degree in NYU. Anyhow i really liked your poem because it reminded me of situations that went on in my family after my fathers stroke. People do not appriciate and care about you went you actually need them. Just a few stand next to you and really care and are ready to give everything they have to make you feel good and strong so you can overcome the struggles and difficult situations that life throws at us to face.

  2. Happy Belated Father’s Day..thoughtful of you to bless those who are less fortunate.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

